Tech-Free Sunday #5
…It was a day just like any other day, the sun was shining, birds were singing…

It seems that this day does revolve around the family meal and preparing it together. Tonight we made homemade pizza, dough, (there was a pizza toss -amazing) and sauce. Aunt C & Uncle B were in attendance of course, and tonight’s entertainment was an outdated Thesaurus provided by my aunt… (I have a newer version, but I have no idea where it is; I usually use Merriam-Webster online). I had told her that the kids were hatin’ and so she brought the little book to help them discover new words to replace the word hate. We looked up many commonly used words in an effort to expand our vocabularies. Amazing how much fun this was. They also brought the comics from today’s news paper, which they do a lot for my son, who loves to read them, then he cut out the ones that he thought applied to each of us. The comic he gave to me was:

Jump Start

There was cheating today, I will admit, when I woke up my daughters watching a movie and my youngest kept disappearing to sneak on to her iPod or phone (I have created a techno bulimic).  I try to purge (for cleansing purposes) the technology and then she binges trying to get as much as she can. I had to hide them from her today to remove the temptation. New Husband tried to have a debate where he divide the table and one side was for (‘pro’) bringing cell phones to school while (of course) the other side was against…  I was on the side that was “For” and uhhhh, had a very difficult time trying to think of a reason, but the ‘debate’ was an epic fail because the ability to listen and wait your turn to speak is a requirement in a debate, which was damn near impossible for my youngest. We gave up, but we tried an experiment where we blindfolded her to see if she listened better, and she did, it was extraordinary, but this was not before she wore us all down.

There was a lot of interaction today, there was (pretend) dueling, shopping and dressing up, inventing new super heroes and making pizza dough. I love trying new things and watching my children interact with their great-aunt and uncle. My son made the Pizzelles today (very traditionally – no tie dye). My uncle made a delicious Greek salad and my aunt was a great help and teacher on the pizza dough. I can honestly say that TFS’s are getting easier (and the fact that I am consuming less alcohol to get through it is a positive sign! LOL, -JK). All of the kids admitted liking the food prep, even my youngest lil hater. Another success and no one died lack of Internet….. so we will do it again. Bringing the focus back to family and home while limiting access to the Internet and cell phones.

Leave a comment